General News, Hyndburn Leisure Centre, Mercer Hall Leisure Centre, Norden Leisure Centre, Wilson Athletics Track

Hyndburn sports awards nominees announced

The nominations are in for this year’s awards and once again the people of Hyndburn have come out in force to nominate deserving clubs, athletes, coaches, schools and volunteers across 11 categories.

Anne Ellwood, Board Member for Hyndburn Leisure and Sports Awards Champion said, “It’s been a fantastic year of sport nationally with a Cricket World Cup victory and an inspiring run from England in the Women’s Football World Cup. It seems the spirit of the nation has rubbed off locally, with over 60 nominations for this year’s awards. I for one cannot wait to welcome the nominees along with guest speakers Craig Heap and Stacey Copeland to this year’s awards on 27th September at Accrington Town Hall.”

Tickets are now on sale for this year’s event. Book online at or call 01254 380 295.

Winners of the Hyndburn Awards will go on to represent the Borough at the Lancashire Sports Awards.

The full list of 2019 nominees are below:

Changing Lifestyle Award Sponsored by Technogym

Claire Rothwell, Barbara Peters, Ivor Holden, George Foot, Susan Edmondson, Gill Clitheroe, Chantelle Greenwood and Catherine Anderson

Coach of the Year sponsored by Master Ground Services 

Roy Duckworth, Stuart Holt, Danny Ferguson, Elle Kayley, Sophie Molloy and Adam Lee

Community Club of The Year sponsored by Forbes Solicitors 

Baxenden Running Bugs, Oswaldtwistle Juniors FC, Accrington Wildcats RLFC, Hyndburn Athletics Club and Great Harwood Rovers Football Club

Community Project of the Year sponsored by Studio

Ossy Joggers, Wheel’s For All, Lets Dance Afternoon Tea Project, Up & Active Urban History Walks, Parkinson’s Exercise Project and Bank Mill House Cardiac

Inspire Award (Donated by Anne Ellwood) Sponsored by Accrington and District Golf Club

Edie Birtwistle, Edward Harkness, Jason’s Wheels, Lynne Coogan

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by Ron Hill and Hilly Clothing

John Brindle, Chic Kelly and Stephen Johnson

Primary School of The Year sponsored by Accrington Stanley Community Trust 

Peel Park Primary School, St Mary’s RC Primary School, Baxenden St John’s, Springhill Community Primary School, Benjamin Hargreaves Primary School, St Nicholas’ CE Primary School, St Anne’s and St Joseph’s RC Primary School and St Bartholemew’s CE Primary School

Secondary School of The Year Sponsored by Accrington and Rossendale College

Accrington Academy, Hyndburn Academy, Hollins High School, St Christopher’s CE High School

Service to Under-represented groups sponsored by Bevlan Office Interiors

Wheel’s For All, Refugee Family Exercise Project, Spring into Action, Big Blue Door, Stepping Out, Jason’s Wheels and Springhill Primary School

Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Cardboard Box Company

Gareth Cross, Julie Walker, Lee Boyer, Stephen Johnson, Chris Dickinson, Jean Wood and Ruby Taylor

Young Achiever of the Year sponsored by Beever and Struthers 

Keely Battrick, Aaron Bennett, Caitlin Armstrong, Charlie Chadwick, Nathan Sheridan, Jay Cronshaw, Ethan Naisbitt and Leah Embley

Back to list